You are here:  Home  >  Water  >  Water Restrictions

Water Restrictions

For Restrictions Advice call: 1800 671 841

The following water supply restrictions are currently in place across East Gippsland:

Supply DistrictRestriction Category
Permanent Water
Saving Rules

Bemm River




Cann River


Dinner Plain




Mitchell River (M)




Orbost (O)


Swifts Creek


 indicates the current restriction level that a town is on

M - Bairnsdale, Paynesville, Lindenow, Lindenow South, Eagle Point, Lucknow, Newlands Arm, Banksia Peninsula, Raymond Island, Lakes Entrance, Lake Tyers Beach, Swan Reach, Sarsfield, Nicholson, Nowa Nowa, Johnsonville, Metung, Bruthen and surrounding areas.

O - Orbost, Marlo, Newmerella


An Explanation of Water Restrictions and Rules

Permanent Water Saving Rules    

These are commonsense rules which guide the efficient use of water on a permanent basis across Victoria. For full details click on Permanent Water Saving Rules.

Water Restrictions

These are introduced when it is clear that the supply of water is depleting at a rate that cannot keep pace with demand, perhaps due to low stream flows and ongoing drought conditions.


Restrictions range from Stage 1 (Alert), through to Stage 4 (critical). For full details click on the link below:

Model Water Restriction By-law


* Permanent Water Saving Rules and Water Restrictions do not apply to  water from rainwater tanks or bores, grey water or stormwater.


East Gippsland Water can impose financial penalties and take legal action against anyone found breaching any of the Permananet Water Saving Rules or Restrictions. For more information call East Gippsland Water's hotline on 1800 671 841.