Select Page

Board Directors

Board Appointments

Therese Tierney


Therese is an experienced CEO, Board Director and Chair. She has held CEO and senior management roles in metro Melbourne and regional Victoria, and in both the private and public health sectors and local government as both a Councillor and General Manager.

Therese is currently the Chair of the Gippsland Primary Health Network and Maryvale Private Hospital and a Director at Omeo District Health. In 2021 she was appointed as Chair of the Gippsland Regional Partnership and a member of the Regional Development Advisory Committee.

She now works as a consultant, providing strategic and innovative solutions to challenges with business, change management, health/business planning and design, people and systems thinking. This also includes supporting Boards to improve their governance and create a positive and accountable culture.

Steve Bird

Deputy Chairperson

Steve was a Director of North East Water from October 2011 to September 2015. Prior to that he was the Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Water Industry Association.

He has spent over 47 years in the water industry and held various senior management positions with Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water, Wimmera Mallee Water, and their predecessors. In addition he is an Independent Member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee of Wannon Water.

Steve has a Bachelor of Business (Accounting), is a Fellow Certified Practicing Accountant, a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an Associate of the Institute of Water Administration.

Angela Hutson

Board Director

Angela is a management and education consultant. She is a Board Member of TAFE Gippsland, a Director of Workways Australia and a Member of the Gunaikurnai Traditional Owner Land Management Board. She also is a Member of the Regional Development Australia Gippsland Committee and an Independent Member of the Latrobe Community Health Services Board Nominations Committee.

Angela has a Masters in Organisational Leadership, a Bachelor of Arts, a Graduate Diploma of Business in Entrepreneurship & Innovation and a Diploma of Education.

She is a Fellow and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Michelle McLean

Board Director

Michelle is the Chief Commissioner of the Victorian Building Authority and Deputy Chair of the Country Fire Authority (CFA). She is a Board member of Frontier FSI, Equestrian Australia, and a member of the Royal Melbourne Agricultural Society and the Risk Management Institute.

Previously, Michelle was Managing Partner and CEO of the law firm Cornwall Stodart (now Cornwalls).  She has also been President of the Australian Legal Practice Management Association (where she is a life member), an Advisory Board member of the Melbourne University Business School, an Executive Council member of the Victorian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and a Board member of the Mercy Health Foundation, the Overnewton Anglican Community College and Acom International. 

Susan Taylor

Board Director

Susan is General Counsel and Company Secretary of Amber Electric,an electricity retail company. She has previously held roles as a partner in major law firms and was General Counsel and Company Secretary for AusNet Services from 2008-2016. 

Susan has also held Board roles at The Royal Flyer Doctor Service (Vic), AusNet’s subsidiary companies, Yarra Energy Foundation and St Kilda Football Club.

Susan holds law and economic degrees and a post graduate diploma in corporations and securities law from the University of Melbourne, and is a graduate of the AICD. She has expertise in law, utility regulation, business, strategy, corporate governance and crisis response.

Ian Gibson

Board Director

Ian is a long-term resident of Gippsland and has extensive networks in the public sector, community organisations, business, academia and sporting bodies.

He holds qualifications as a Master of Public Policy and Management and in Economics and Arts. He also has public sector board experience, which includes the State Electricity Commission of Victoria, Coal Corporation, West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority and the Latrobe Regional Hospital.

Ian’s work experience has been in local government, regional development and tertiary education. He is currently a sessional member at Planning Panels Victoria, a member of the Board of the Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority and Chair of the Community Advisory Committee for the Star of the South offshore windfarm.

Tim Weight

Board Director

Tim works with TAFE Gippsland as Executive Director Strategic Engagement and has been a Director of Tim Weight Consulting since 2014. Previously, he was the Managing Director of Riviera Properties Limited Group for 15 years and held senior roles with Victorian Properties Pty Ltd for ten years.

He is the Deputy Chair of the Regional Development Australia Committee for Gippsland and is on the Board of the Committee for Gippsland.

Tim has expertise in financial and business management, infrastructure and project management, and strategic planning and development.

He holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Steve McKenzie

Board Director

In addition, East Gippsland Water’s Managing Director Steve McKenzie is a Director of the Board.

Steve has 30 years’ experience in various senior executive water industry roles in Victoria and the Northern Territory.  He has a Degree in Civil Engineering, a Graduate Diploma of Management and has completed the Directors Essential Directors Program of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He is a member of the AICD and industry associations including VicWater, the Water Services Association of Australia, the Institute of Water Administration and the Australian Water Association.